My friend, the late Chris Loosely

It is with profound sadness that I learnt of the untimely demise of my friend Chris Loosely few weeks back. He was 67 years old.

Chris and I worked at IBM during the decade of the 1980s and early 1990s at IBM’s Santa Teresa Lab (now called Silicon Valley Lab). I was part of the DB2 planning, technology, and strategy team while Chris always worked in the performance group. He had moved to the US from England where he started his IBM career during the 1970s. I had moved from Canada where I also started at IBM Canada in 1974.

Chris was not only excellent in his professional career, he was a wonderful human being. Always kind and joyful, he exuded positive energy. We shared many moments discussing technical aspects of DB2 and he was a master of technology behind scalability and high performance. We spoke at many events around the world during those years.

Chris left IBM and worked at Keynote systems, again focusing on website performance measurement and tuning issues. Subsequently he came back to IBM through an acquisition just couple of years back. He was slim, handsome, and a runner.

Late in 2010, he was diagnosed with colon cancer. After several months of varieties of treatment, he succumbed to that dreadful disease and left his mortal body.

This brief life we all have is so mysterious! What stands out is the fragrance of love and kindness one leaves behind. Someone said – when we are born, we cry while others laugh  and when we leave, we smile while others cry. What matters is the legacy one leaves behind.

Chris, my salutations to you for being such a great friend, colleague, and wonderful human being.

R.I.P.

4 responses to “My friend, the late Chris Loosely

  1. Chris was in fact one of the most talented distance runners of his generation and a beacon to those, like myself, who were to follow in his footsteps. Both as a schoolboy and later an undergraduate (in Aberystwyth, West Wales) he was head and shoulders above his contemporaries. He represented his country with distinction and it was a disappointment to many that his enthusiasm for athletics waned comparatively early, in his early 20s, when he might have achieved several more years at the highest level of the sport. I guess he left this part of his life well and truly behind him when he moved to the US.

  2. Just seen this whilst trying to track down an email address for a Carmarthen Harriers reunion (West Wales). Only sorry that we in Welsh athletics did not know of his death at the time.

    I have happy personal memories of running against Chris in Welsh Championship events. As Gwynn Davis says, Chris was ahead of his time and an outstanding middle distance runner on both track and country.

    Clive Williams
    Welsh Athletics Historian

  3. I was a PE master at Ardwyn Grammar School, Aberystwyth from 1958 – 1963 and I remember Chris Loosely very well. I was sad to discover some years ago that he had died. I knew nothing about the detail of his career in the USA . He was a delightful boy and a marvellous athlete. As Gwynn Davis says, one of the best. I left Ardwyn for Machynlleth at short notice just before Christmas. I remember that I was taking one of my rare Geography lessons when Chris, then in the Sixth form, entered the room in a bit of a hurry and asked me to confirm that I was leaving. His was a mixture of disappointment, disbelief and he was almost indignant at what I confirmed, that I was doing. It was an unsolicited testimonial. I still have an aneroid barometer that he presented to me on behalf of pupils at the Christmas school dance. He had coordinated a collection and with my wife had chosen a leaving present for me.
    He was an effortless runner which belied his stamina and the miles that he ran.
    A delightful person to know and to teach.

  4. I am both amazed and humbled that comments about my late friend Chris Loosley are still appearing in August 2016. I was reminiscing about a time when we co-presented at CMG, which led me to revisit some articles we co-wrote and stumble across this written celebration of his life.

    Chris was a dear friend and a mentor, and Cynthia Holiday Loosley taught me more about the essence of true marketing than anyone else. They were a powerful pair. I knew and worked with Chris at Keynote, and was a better person for it.

    While Chris and I occasionally spoke of his time in Wales, I never knew that he was a runner. I was also a medium distance runner when I was younger, both on track and cross country, though I am certain that I never reached anything close to his talent and achievement. I would have enjoyed knowing more about this part of his life.

    Thank you Jnan, Gwynn, Clive, and Hywel. This has been a pleasant surprise that I will treasure.

    –Donald

Leave a Reply

